Leave me a Note, Damn It!
link to diary critic

2002-12-30 - 3:09 a.m.


***

Grand Theft Auto Vice City Theatre

So let me just tell you about how I'm pretty messed up right now.

I'm all sorts of sick. I haven't slept a good nights sleep in almost 2 weeks now, on account of the holidays and of GTA Vice City and all. My whole family has come down with this disease I like to call "Double Barrel Shotgun", in that it invokes projectiles to shoot from both your mouth and your ass. None of us can do anything because we either want to vomit all over the place, and if we do puke, it will be sitting down because apparently our assholes want to vomit too.

Oh and happy new year soon, too, by the way.

It's probably the worst thing I've ever had to suffer, knowing that if I had to stick my head in a toilet, it's probably going to smell like shit. And that's comforting. It's like some kind of holiday Monteczuma's revenge.

And speaking of GTA, which I did a little while ago, let me just tell you the answer to the question "I wonder what it's like outside". The answer to that question is "I don't fucking care". There is NO reason to leave your house once you own GTA Vice City, unless it is to buy some more Ammodium AD or soap for your clothes. All other reasons are irrelevant. Food shopping? puh. Just order take out or ask someone else who hates video games to help you out. Excersize? Just jog while you play. MAkes the gameplay go faster. A job to pay for all this? guh. We live in the technological era. Just sell your house a piece at a time on E-Bay, like some kind of electronic crackhead. Start with your other games, you won't need them.

This game is certainly one of the best games ever produced. Ever. It completely takes the third one and puts it on its head. Everything about the 3rd one is either done better or it's at least done differently so that you don't feel like you're just playing some kind of expansion pack for the third one. I have to say that I like the 3rd one better still in some regards, because Vice City is too bright and colorful. The mood was better in the 3rd one, where even in the day time, it still looked a little dark. The beach and the bright colors seem to make light of the fact that you're playing a game where you can kill people and get away with it.

One of the best features in the game is the fact that you can buy buildings. You can physically buy buidlings, which just allows you to save there. So far. Who knows what else it will allow you to do. I heard some people tell me that when you buy a house, there's a helicopter on top at all times.

Yeah. There's a goddamn helicopter in the game. And a boat. And motorcycles. It's fucking ludicrous.

One of the buildings I bought cost me 2000 more than I had when I first found it. I was in the middle of a mission and you can't buy things then, but I knew I had to buy it. I knew I'd forget where it was, so I decided to hop out of my car and start mugging people with a nightstick. I ended up raising over 2000 bucks, killed myself off and then just came back and bought the place. That's a funny story. The landlord of the building mugged the entire neighborhood to raise money for the building. If that happened in real life, that would be all sorts of fucked up. In this game, it was rewarded.

It truly is such a phenomenon. This game, which undoubtly will be one upped and one upped as sequels come out and technology gets better, is some of the best video gaming I've ever played.

CUT TO

UPSTAIRS BEDROOM IN HOUSE
A MAN awakes to hear a shattering of glass downstairs. He is alone and begins to get upset. Reaching for a blunt object, he grabs his alarm clock, ready to strike. He gets out of bed, where he hears the rustling of objects downstairs, then they eerily cease. He quickly rushes downstairs, as quietly as possible, trying to see if the ROBBER is still inside the house. As he gets to the bottom of the stairs, he notices the lights are on dimly, and the TV in the TV room is on. Puzzled, he gears up to strike as he investigates.

MAN

(to Robber>

What the hell are you doing here?

Startled, the Robber looks up and has a shocked look on his face. The Man looks to the TV to see that he is playing GTA Vice City.

ROBBER

I'm here to rob you.

CUT TO

2 HOURS LATER

Both men are on the couch, laughing their asses off. The sound of sirens is coming from the TV. There are empty bags of snacks and dirty plates all over.

ROBBER

(playing the game)

No...UH...NONONONO DON'T AHHHHHHHHHH AHAHAHAHA No way. I can't believe this guy can kill people but he can't friggin swim.
(hands off controller)

MAN

HAHAHA yeah. He can fly a helicopter but he has no idea how to fly whatsoever. Oh, and thanks for beating that board.

Both men bump fists like friends and throw an arm around each other

ROBBER

Yo, no problem bro. It was pretty messed up, with all those guys on the roof. Once you figured out to shoot out the vans and those explosives...

MAN

(laughing)

THE EXPLOSIVES! Oh man when those guys got set on fire!

ROBBER

Yeah, that was pretty good. Listen, bro, I'm going to have to steal something. I didn't come in for nothing, you know. You're cool and all man, nothing personal...

MAN
(while playing)

Oh, no problem man. No offense whatsoever. Just don't take the PS2. And don't beat me up when you go to leave. I made you taquitos man

ROBBER

Well what the hell am I going to take?

MAN

I dunno. Take a sofa or a lamp or something.

ROBBER

What the hell am I going to do with a sofa? I only got a Focus outside, man. Unless...

MAN

No. Don't steal my car.

ROBBER

DAMN!

A COP comes through the door behind them

COP
Hello? Buddy, you ok?

ROBBER
(starting to get up to leave)

OH SHIT! DID YOU CALL THE COPS!

Man pauses the game and looks back at the cop, then nods at him and goes back to playing

MAN
(to cop)

Sup bro.
(to Robber)

Yeah, I called him when I went to go make the Iced Tea.

ROBBER

OH SHIT! I GOT TO GO MAN!

MAN

No way man, sit down. We've been trying to beat the damn helicopter board forever. We need you here
(to Cop)

Yo, this guy beat the fucking helicopter board!

COP

Fucking A. Who is he?

MAN

Oh, he just tried to rob me. We've been playing ever since. He came in, what like half an hour ago?

ROBBER

Yeah right. HAlf an hour ago, we were trying to do that RC Toy Car bonus game...

MAN

Oh yeah.

CUT TO

HALF AN HOUR LATER

All three men are shouting and laughing while the cop siren sounds from the TV. There are even more empty wrappers all over.

COP
(eating a taquito)

GO GO GO GO GO! Yo, this guy IS good.

MAN

See? I told you.

ROBBER
(playing game)
DIE! DIE YOU MOTHERFUCKING PIGS. HAHAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHAH....

The Robber stops short and looks at the cop.

ROBBER
(visually embarrassed)

Oops. Sorry man.

COP

Oh it's ok man. Just remember, you can't get away from ME like that. I would have beaten the hell out of you and shoved that nightstick up your ass already.

All three men begin to laugh

ROBBER

Do these handcuffs have to be on so tight?

Robber raises hands to show that his hands have been handcuffed

COP

Ohhhhh yeah. You bet they do.

All three laugh again

FADE TO BLACK

****************

It's that goddamn good.

BMC

Last Few

What did you just say? - What's he gonna say next?

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!