Leave me a Note, Damn It!
link to diary critic

2002-01-25 - 2:52 p.m.


***

The Cure for Mental Cancer

"strange things are afoot at the circle k..."

- Bill S. Preston

Radical changes have been undertaken on my life, to be true, since last time I wrote in this diary. I've been in 3 beds in 5 days and I'm running on no sleep and coffee(as most early days of adjusting to college life are and then again towards finals time).

I'm getting entirely too much Coldplay lately and I think it's calming me to annoying proportions. I'd much rather be pissed.

I finally got that herb stuff and smoked it. I had to pick it up at the Dean's office, becuase it arrived a day earlier than interschool mail was open and they had to store it there until I could come pick it up. A bag full of these herbs that they never would understand was just teas and slight tobaccos, that give an enlightened feeling, but are not a controlled substance and are perfectly legal. They'd just assume it was pot.

Well, it didnt stop them from...making me sign for it. And giving it to me. Me waving at the Dean, smiling. And I left for my first class this semester.

That was a true story.

I've been running around with this stuff and smoking like it was the next oxygen and I've never felt so relaxed in my life but I need to get hungry and attack classes to get the GPA to a transferable level. Preferably east more, a little more south...

I bought a big picture of Bob Marley rolling a joint and tried to tape it to the ceiling, and it didnt work. It's damn near destroyed and its getting worse, but it cost 12 bucks and I refuse to throw it out.

Working ceased, only to continue agian in Lake George, with Shpunt, my roomate. Since my school has obviously shown they are oblivious to the lives of the people that go to school here by opening the dorms on *gasp* MONDAY, I had to stay with someone who could take me back with them or at least house me until I can get a taxi the next morning and get there. I called up Shpunt and asked if I could just crash with him and go with him when he drives up. He said yeah, and I stayed over until Tuesday because Shpunt still had to work. I dyed my hair a reddish color (like my head was bleeding all the time) one day. I thought it looked interesting.

I helped Shpunt shovel a few walkways and an outdoor ice skating rink. He started it by digging out these shapes in the snow. I started just cutting the area I had in half and took out a straight line from that middle to the ends of the rink. I wish I had a little more fun with it, like shpunt did. He reminds me constantly that if I waste moments like these, I probably won't get any more chances any more to enjoy them. Those times are soon approaching, if my winter working escapades taught me anything.

I made a pair of japanese lanterns this week too. When I picked up my books, I saw this thing in the art section of the store...

***************************
it's a fucking reallllly tiny bookstore. Lowell had 2 bookstores to go to and one was pretty massive, with a good addtional things related to the college.

The other one was the good old nursing, music and english sections. Some of the best people I ever met still use those shelves...
***************************

...that was a light bulb socket connected to a line with a clicker switch on it that just gets straight plugged into the wall and light up.

It was the guts of a lamp, the essence of illumination in a room.

I slapped my 16 for 2 down and grinned as I headed out the door, planning.

The first one is more of a prototype/first try. It was a simple box shape with an open bottom, so that you can easily change the light bulb when it goes out.

It looks shoddy at best.

But the second one is a piece of art.

I made both of them taking paper clips and bending them out into sticks and using a plyer to bend the ends over so that they stay.

I tried to make the first one with a box shape, easy enough. But the paper clips kept getting misshapen and when I went to put the paper to cover the bulb, it stuck out awkwardly and caused holes that make light randomly stream out of it.

True chaos in it's rarest form. I plan on putting black permanent on it all over except in certain shape areas. it should make a pretty fucked up visual.

The second one is just awesome. I made up a bell shape with three intertwined paper clips, like taking wires for indoor electrical wiring and you clamp them together and wind them together as one and then just flex them into a bell, then make a loop out of two, taping them together and another layer up with another loop and 3 paper clips straightened out. it made a bullet shape.

I decided to cut out my own poetry on the nice resume type paper, that tan colored paper that costs a lot, and tape it to the bullet shape, folding in the parts on the botom to make it a concave snippet of 3 poems, one in every gap between paper clips. I then made a top out of it by cutting out a circle in the middle of a poem I wrote about smoking and took the pieces from the hole and taped them streaming off the end, like tail feathers. I coincidentally cut out a poem that had a box of *****'s in the middle of it and it looks like a mouth.

When I finished taping it, I found a little piece of the collage that I made before I left had fallen on the floor after I was forced to throw it out when it got destroyed transporting it up to Plattsburgh. It was a little thing I made out of an ad from a very old Rolling Stone I found in my room during break for the movie "The Game" with Michael Douglass. I saw that movie in Lynbrook when it first came out, so I cut out other letters from another ad and made it say "the Belmo".

I found that one reminder from winter break that safely made it up this semester, that one act of a return to my older artistic days, and it had to be put on it, so I streamed it down with a thin piece of tape.

When you turn on the lamp, the word "Game" bleeds through the Belmo.

I decided to call it "The Game" because of that and it's my first piece of art I'm ever proud of. I use it as my reading lamp and it means everything to me, because it is a portrayal of my imagination in it's purest form.

Or just the best way to spend boredom since video games.

BMC

Last Few

What did you just say? - What's he gonna say next?

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!