Leave me a Note, Damn It!
link to diary critic

2004-01-08 - 10:03 p.m.


***

All you crazy people, just .... I don't even know what you should be doing.

Ok, attention women.

You scare the living hell out of me.

I joined a couple dating services online months ago because I was in the computer lab at Plattsburgh doing a report and the last thing I was doing was my report. I was messing around and stumbled on someone's away message with a link to their dating service link (I think it was Yahoo! Personals). Anyway, I decided to look into it and find out what the hell was going on.

I've seen dating services online before. In Lowell, a couple of people join Makeoutclub.com and some people *cough*ROB LYNCH*cough* made out like bandits.

I mean that in the someone else's tongue in your mouth kind of making out.

It was ridiculous. Crazy people who see two paragraphs and a photo that may or (most likely for some of the better ones) may not be them and you've got enough info to date them. It seemed absolutely vile to me. I don't look at dating as something I could do with jsut anyone. Call me a prude or what have you, but there's a fuckton of psychos out there and plenty of people who are fucked in the head and although they might deserve to date someone just as much as anyone else does, I don't want to date them. I don't want to date psychos and crazy people. You can date them if you feel they need loving and I'm being inconsiderate.

But there are a lot of people out there that are lonely. A LOT. I know because my mailbox is always full of them due to one bored afternoon in Plattsburgh. I get the mailings all the time and, call it morbid curiosity or call it a further elongation of that initial boredom, I just don't unsubscribe.

So when I found this one link to this person who was basically saying "hey, I fuck. I fuck alot and I only want to fuck. No relationship, nothing else besides hanging out as a friend who I will fuck that night and who will sleep in their bed that same night" naturally, I clicked on their link. It's not everyday that someone is so open about the fact that they just want someone to screw. Especially a woman. Call that a sexist remark, but there are very few women I know who are up front about their sexuality and the only ones I do know about do it because I am good friends with them. Or I just make friends with people who love to have sex.

Either way, they give you their wants and needs and shit. What they are looking for. Her requirements? Any. That's all it said for her requirements for anything they asked. Religion? Any. Be it satanist, pagan, baby blood drinker or some other fucked up religion, I don't care. Because I will fuck you. Are you black? Are you white? Are you asian, samoan, hispanic or invisible? If yes to any of the above, I will fuck you.

Now that's fine and all. I'm all for diversity. In all honesty, if a woman approached me and was any race or religion or whatever and wanted to be with me, then fine. I have no problem and actually history has proven that. I really have no discriminations.

However.

Her age range was interesting. You can put down how old you want your potential suitors in all of the world to be. And she put down 18-35. And she's 24.

That's not a dating age range - that's something you'd put down if you were talking about demographics

Now, I'm not a mathematician but I've seen enough of them to know that that's kind of creepy. I'm 22. If I picked up a high school senior, that would be still within 6 years of age. Granted, she's 2 years older than me. But there's a huge difference in 18 year olds and 24 year olds. WORLDS of difference. Shit, how old are you? IF you aren't 24, think of how you were 6 years ago and if you are 24 or older, think of you 6 years ago. That's huge. Again, call me old fashioned, but I have one discrimination about dating women and that discrimination is they can't be younger than my sister, who is about 2 years younger than me. I'm sure as time goes on, that will change (you know, like 2 or 3 years from now).

Now let's look in the other direction. 24. 35. Well, they're both double digits and they're both numbers and that's about the similarities between the numbers 24 and 35. That's also the same amount of similarities between 24 year olds and 35 year olds - very little. Sure, a 35 year old guy would love to screw a 24 year old girl who would sleep with anyone regardless of age, weight, eye color, height, hair color, religion, smoking habits, drinking habits, past marriages, any number of kids they may have and their level of education...

**************************************
...and let me note one more thing. Money. It's hilarious to me when I see these personal ads online and they have no determined requirements for any personal or physical attributes, but when it comes to how much money you make, they all want someone rich. Not a single person puts "fuck it, if you're fat, ugly, atheist, and too short for me, I don't care" and also says "you're poor? I don't care about that either." The kicker is when they put down that they are either still in school or just graduated and are unemployeed or make waaaaay less than they are looking for their match to make. It's as if they are shopping for husbands online and they at least have to make enough money to ignore the fact that not a single thing about them is attractive. And that's really fucking sad. I'm sorry, that's tremendously sad. I can't speak for all of manhood, but personally, if you're poor, so am I and I don't give a fuck. It just means we'll be eating at Friendly's instead of a real restaurant...
**************************************

...but that doesn't make it right, nor does it make it any less creepy. I have uncles that are barely 35 and cousins who are 24 and when I put the two of them together based solely on what they are as opposed to who they are, my stomach revolts against me and I end up wearing my dinner. And if you thought 6 years was a big difference, double it and see how that fits. It's freaky.

This isn't about Lady First Come First Serve though. I think my new found fear of women based on their responses to random questions about yourself asked on an online dating service is very biased, seeing as I have none of the men to compare it to. I don't look at what the guys are putting down because honestly, I didn't request guy information in the emails I get for the reason that I don't like men like that. It's not that I'd even make attempts to answer any of these women personal ads either though. There are many a good use for the internet. HAve a song you can't figure the words out for? Bling. Want movie times and weather information really fast? Bling. Want to talk to people you haven't seen in ages for absolutely nothing? Bling. Want to date anonymous people you've never met, have never seen, know absolutely nothing about, have no reference to what kind of person they are, have no idea if what they are telling you is the truth and it could potentially lead to some psycho wearing your intestines as a scarf?

If you said bling, I pity you.

BMC

Last Few

What did you just say? - What's he gonna say next?

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!