Leave me a Note, Damn It!
link to diary critic

2001-09-12 - 12:23 p.m.


***

The Lot Six vs. the USA (or is it?)

I just got freaked out today in a bad way walking out of my Human Evolution class today because of the Lot Six.

Let me explain.

Last year at Lowell, we had this band come play at Fox MPR and I think Harris was teh main band, although it probably was Stolen Bike Crusade now that i think of it. At any rate, the Lot Six was a fucking amazing band, who put on one of the best shows I have ever seen. What made it especially great was that teh singer was from one of my favorite bands in teh world, Boxer. So to see him in another band and fucking playing amazing music was teh best thing in the world. I bought their CD "the code mode"...

***************************

which I love...
***************************

...due to thier awesome stage prescence.

I woke up today and put that CD into my discman and walked to class. I only got through the first song on the way there. When I got to Human Evo, all they could discuss there was this horrible tragedy but I sat there in horror as I heard some of my classmates ideas. One kid talked about strapping a bomb on his back and divebombing bin Laden if he had the chance...I thought this was supposed to be Human EVOLUTION...how could he be deevolving in front of my eyes? "bunch of savages in this town..."

After I went through that, I slipped back on my headphones and hit play... And then the Lot Six scared me shitless. The second track on the CD (which I uploaded to an old website I have on Geocities for my old band, which you can get here) comes blaring out of my headset and these lyrics fucked me up...

"Such a little coincidence in this oh precious little angel...You sound like you talk like you're right...set it off like a tidal wave, why can't you see me see me? Because all teh skies on fire today in teh United States of America..teh sky's on fire today in the USA"


and tehn it gets to the breakdown part, which is all eerie and stumbling, like a drunk polka or something...

"this is the end of the world as we know, go find yourself in the New World Realm...fly downtown fly downtown fly downtown fly"


Now, I don't think that they meant anything messed up about this, seeing as this CD came out well over a year ago. I don't think that the Lot Six wrote a song foreshadowing it. They didn't look like the plane flying types...
***************************
...and don't get offended by this either please. This is a tragedy for sure, but I wanted to share this fucked up moment I had and I mean no disgrace to anyone...it's jsut that the Lot Six coulndt have done smoething like this...they're a traveling hardcore band and besides, teh singer punched himself in teh throat while he sang to get this really fucked up effect...that takes practice, so much so that it leaves little time for aviation...not to mentino that on the Espo records homepage, it says they're in the studio. So yeah.
***************************

Anyway, this completely messed me up to hear something like this after discussing for 50 minutes 2 planes crashing into teh Twin Towers and everyone being out for blood in my class.

The Lot Six is still a good band though.

BMC

Last Few

What did you just say? - What's he gonna say next?

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!