Leave me a Note, Damn It!
link to diary critic

2004-03-13 - 12:11 a.m.


***

This would have been current events...yesterday

Soooo I drove my dad's car up to 100000 miles last night and he woke me up at 5 AM, shaking me awake, to "yell" at me about doing so - in a half kidding around, half jealous little kid because someone ruined his fun kind of way - and the only logical answer I could give the entire scenario was "NYEH NYEH NYEH NYEH" before going to sleep again.

Before that, I went to taco bell and bought the new fiesta bowl salad thing. Man oh man is that good. Especially at 1:30 AM, especially after driving 100000 miles.

Before that, I was driving back from the A Room, where I was practicing with Sometimelater. I'm pretty happy with this band. There are parts that make me angry - one of which being that we have no singer. And that's a huge part. It is fun to rock out and kick the shit out of music, but goddamn it the music we're playing isn't like some kind of instrumental rockthrough that needs no singing whatsoever.

It DOES sound good though.

While playing at the space...

***********************
we get there like 10 or so and as soon as I opened the door I smelled weed. I smelled it. I smelled it and saw it in the air and read it on the eyes of everyone in that room when we got in. So, while we set up and they broke down, there was this silent tension in the air. I didn't know where this came from or why it was there but it is present every time weed is present and strangers come into the situation. NO MATTER WHO YOU ARE, if you are smoking weed and someone comes over to where you are smoking and just stands there, all conversation will die. There will be no words and you will shuffle silently waiting out some unsaid warning as the two parties involved will taste the air to see if there will be trouble. Seeing as weed is illegal and can land you in jail (and in your drug clouded paranoid mind, you will immediately be taken to jail and sent to a federal prison no matter how little your bowl pack or so of weed is) there is this tension no matter what. And it remained there the entire time until all that was left was the drummer. So I asked him for a hit and he gave it to me.
I didn't think shit like that even worked on Long Island. "Hey you, give me your weed now." I thanked him for it and began to play the worst I've ever played music in my life....
***********************

I got a taste of how exactly out of shape I am.

I don't know how much daily you are reminded of your mortality. You should be reminded of it daily or else you'll forget it.

I can remember the days of Lowell where I would pound all over a stage, beating the living shit out of it and having a blast. I'd wear no shoes, I'd have tin foil on my head, a garbage bag as a...well, I guess pants or a skirt or I don't even know what to call it at that point. A bottom.

I was in jeans, a t-shirt and socks and I threw myself all over that stage and I still feel it. I still ache. Dude, how the hell does that happen? We're not even talking like a decade or something since I did this. Hell, we're not even talking half a decade. Fuck, we're barely talking half of that. And what's this? WEAKNESS?!?!? How the fuck could this happen? It's only rock. It's only jumping around onstage to the music I love to play. How could I possibly feel injured?

Well, the forward roll into a bodyslam onto my bass hurt. A lot. The jumping up and down onto my bass chord in bare feet hurt. Over time. Extending my arms and whipping a bass guitar around my body more than I have been used to lately (which is at all) hurt. Later.

Add it all up and I'm an out of shape rocker. That's the worst kind. We're supposed to be made of invincible fury and insubordinate power.

I was made out of a combination of suck and shit last night. As in I sucked and I was shitty all in a big terrible package.

The crowning achievement was breaking my bass. The roll into a body slam was just the thing I needed to do to my bass. If I could tell you how sarcastic that should sound right now by showing you on some sort of scale, it would look like this I guess:

If you'll note on the graph above, the levels of suck run clearly off of the chart, even above the level of LOTS. LOTS being the most you can suck and none being the smallest.

I think I made myself clear.

And that was all after I worked.

See, from back to front, not a bad day.

BMC

Last Few

What did you just say? - What's he gonna say next?

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!