Leave me a Note, Damn It!
link to diary critic

2004-04-27 - 3:09 p.m.


***

WRI TTEN AT WORK

I wouldn't�t even know what to tell you. In all honesty, I really

don�t

know what to say to myself and I saw it all, all of it. There were

photographs taken and things were said and still, I have no idea what

to

make out of any of it.

But I can try.

The place was washed in red. They usually are. If not red, then

blacklights or really low track lighting. There was a cage for dancing

by

the back door, a brief call back to the place I�m usually used to

seeing

these things happen. It�s weird that there needs to be some way to

entice

someone�s sexuality in these places and they usually all involved metal

poles of some sort.

There was random music playing, one song trying to out trump the last

in

complete obscurity with a fan favorite thrown in to keep people

interested.

I could tell something was going to go down here tonight, because the

math

added up to it. I looked at the people and I looked at the situation

and

crazy plus crazy meant nuts. This was going to be so much fun, even if

it

was a complete disaster.

They started setting up immediately. The same 4 people I�ve seen

collide

into their music time and time again, me screaming back at them, a

whole

room there taking it all in. It was relative�s face familiar. There

was

nothing alien about this.

The entire show seemed doomed to start. We were in the middle of

Suffolk

County, 30 miles from anyone giving a damn. Our friends must have

cursed

themselves as they climbed in their cars and drove a good 45 minute �

hour

long drive out to a hallway with Depeche Mode album covers hanging as

enormous banners on the wall. The bar had Pabst Blue Ribbon on tap �

one of

the first times I�d seen such a thing � and the jukebox had nothing.

It was

turned off anyway. The DJ provided all of the music.

All of the music, that is, until they started playing. It was a rush

to

hear everything in a new room, in front of a few new faces. They were

playing amazing that night too; fucking tight like suit shoes. No one

really moved and I was pissed about that but I couldn�t contain myself

and I

had to jump around a little. I was reserving energy for later, but I

needed

to do something or I�d explode. I was given a camera at one point and

asked

to take photos of this, so I did so repeatedly, every 3 minutes a flash

because it was a digital camera and I knew they wouldn�t mind 100 shots

of

the back of their heads or someone�s guitar because they could delete

them

if they sucked. Flashes like a war; explosions in the air.

I got to sing too. I got to get up on the �stage�, which was really an

opened area on the floor that no one dared come close to. And I let

them

all have it. Not full force, but I let them all have it as much as Iwould allow myself to

muster.

The music died away and I listened to the bass drum heartbeat as it

thump-thump thump-thumped and I just yelled to it, unaware if I was

doing

anything worthwhile or just making noise while someone was trying very

hard

to not be complete failures at music. It all came together well and I

could

see that at least some fun was had and that's all that mattered.

They finished up their noise and got the fuck out of dodge, cleaning

the

stage in speeds people use when they've worn out their welcome. They

were

far from hated however. It was probably one of the best times I've

seen

them, probably one of the best times I've had watching them. I got a

few

minutes to catch my breath and then it was my turn, my turn to bring

the

noise. My turn to really turn things up. I had been talking a lot of

mess

to people for a while now, hyping up a lot of nothing really. I had

nothing

to show for my words. They were words. Sure, I had moved around to

other

people's songs. I had jumped up and down. I had screamed and yelled

and

carried on, carried away by the music being shot at me. But this was

different. There would be no crowd to back into now. If I was tired,

I

couldn't turn around and stand behind someone else and try not to be

seen

catching my breath. All eyes would be on me now and I knew it. I knew

it.

Not just on me - on the band. I was just an appendage of the band.

The arm

or the leg or the head. Well, certainly not the head. That was

someone

else's job. He didn't need any help with that. What he did need was

backup

and he needed it bad. Putting yourself out there in song and word is

the

single most glorious and at the same time obtrusive thing. You're

opening

your brain and heart up. You're holding the hole open and letting all

look

inside - giving a glimpse to the truth behind the wall of lies we cover

ourselves in in common conversation just to get by. No one gives 100%

of

themselves except in song and word.

The stage was cleared off and it was all ready to go. I stood there

alone,

my shitty bass hanging off of my body. It would later fall apart, the

wood

giving under the strain of me whipping the thing about my body like

nunchucks in a 70s kung fu movie. I swung my arms around, stretching

them

out so that I wouldn't feel it later in the night, twisting my body to

squeeze the cracks and snaps out of my joints and furthering along my

arthritis by a few months. It all seemed so unreal. There was a room

full

of people chattering, trying to clear that tinnitus ring out of their

ears

from before and I just quietly danced the dance of stretching in front

of

them, a lone light circling me as random music began spinning from a DJ

next

to me. Eventually, things came together, the guitar amp was turned on,

the

drums were tuned up and we all started into it.

Don't ask me a thing about it. Don't even bother. I wouldn't be able

to

tell you. I can remember clips. Faces. Eyes. I saw a nose. A smile.

Someone stuck a lollipop in my mouth and I sucked on it for 3 songs

before

destroying it with my teeth and continuing on. I broke my bass and

remember

trying my hardest not to break the replacement, trying my damnedest to

respect the replacement I was given for the rest of the show. I

remember

turning to someone who had knocked into me (or me into them - whatever)

and

I ran after them biting their shoulder like a dog. I don't know why.

I

really really don't. I don't remember much.

I remember smiling and knowing I said what I'd do and I did what I

said.

I can continue this another time.

Just know, things that start well usually only get better.

BMC

Last Few

What did you just say? - What's he gonna say next?

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!