Leave me a Note, Damn It!
link to diary critic

2002-12-15 - 2:38 a.m.


***

Old School in the Old Town

Random people coming to your house, after not seeing them for over 5 years, is probably my favorite bedtime activity. Riding out to New Hyde Park to a 24 hour bagel store is even better. Crunch crunch on the crown tonight, almost nothing left of my buddy.

Bush told the reserves to get reserved. Told them to get ready. That means only one thing.

War.

He's going to do it anyway. We told Iraq to go by the books and he's going to do it anyway. Just who is instructing him to do this? What the hell side is HE on? Is he sending us out to get killed because he secretly is doing the terrorists a favor? "No no no, no need for you to bomb our buildings like that. That was a hell of a mess you made. Shit, if you wanted to kill 3000 or so of us, you could have just asked us to send them over."

They're going to use dirty war. They're going to be vile and cruel, mockery of human beings. Evil caricatures with wings and horns and pitchforks, only realistic and in reality. They're going to open so much disaster that the Pandora's box will look like spilt milk.

I saw something on TV, I think on CNN, that said that if Iraq or someone else uses weapons of mass destruction, we will use weapons of mass destruction. That equals a double fuck you to anything within a 300,000 mile radius of....ohhh. Never mind. We haven't been able to live anywhere off this planet, like in 2001: A space odyseey. We're stuck here is seems. Looks like our home is getting a nuclear renovation.

I'm 21. They're coming for me too. They're going to grab my newly graduated ass and draft my ass in their ridiculous war, a war that started because we threw a temper tantrum that we couldn't get oil cheap enough, so we fucked up someone's program and they fought back. Now 12 years and as many hundred pages later, we're back to fucked, faced with a stupid, pointless war, swatting out blindly while invisible foes poke us with sticks from afar. We've become a behemoth and can't notice it when flies bite our skin, but we feel the pain and react accordingly, despite how inappropriate these reflex decisions are. Look out motherfucker, there's a big fucking pissed off behemoth coming to take you out of your home and "meet foreign people from exotic lands and kill them". Is this going to be the next Vietnam, only now the people protesting aren't the flower children hippies, it's the same people whose oil starved SUV's and cardigan ways put us in the shitty need of all that oil to begin with? The same people who were the fuel for the behemoth anyway? There are some good, hardworking people protesting this war, and I applaud them, but I've seen a bunch of people too bored to do anything else, dressed to impress as they wave their "No wars for oil" and "Do not Attack Iraq" banners over head, making people honk their horns, as if suddenly, our government's processes were now dictated by the traffic. This is not anti-war protesting. There were no people in fear of their lives, doing the job they were paid to do: protecting the same people they came there to beat back with riot gear on. Last I saw, only emo tears fell and not the tear gas variety. And absolutely no wooden and/or plastic bullets were fired, no spray administered, no dog sickings, no fire hose opening going on. Just a bunch of people in L.L. Bean winter jackets making a bunch of noise on the corner, so other people make noises. Voila! We have done our part.

they're going to put me on a plane and drop me in the desert with a gun in my hand with a gun to my head with no one to help and you'll be bundled in eddie bauer's seasonal garments, rattling a noise maker while me and a few people bleed to death, possibly inhaling harmful chemicals that will forever damage us internally and mentally. you sick bastards, you're doing absolutely nothing but waiving a flag. until it comes over here. that's when you'll be crying for blood like last time it happened.

Dude, we're all seriously fucked.

I say all these things, as awful as they are, because tonight, I hung out with someone who I haven't seen in a long time, who never really kept in touch, who never knew what I was doing until I told him, and it made him happy. Happy I agreed to come out for half an hour and drive around with him. To me, that's more important than some people half a world away that want to do something we as a country don't do.

Isn't this whole democracy thing supposed to be about freedom? That seems free to me: ruling a country as you see fit because you can. We did it. Hell, we fucking stole this country from TONS of people. Almost all of Europe owned this land first, not counting the Native Americans. If someone crushed us for taking over our country, you wouldn't have Florida hanging off as the schlong of the US, or Southern California sitting there as the asshole. You wouldn't have anything but a bunch of New England colonies and it would be like Europe 2 over here. Total chaos. So fuck 'em. Let 'em do what the fuck they want to do. I just had an amazing evening tonight and not once did I have to tell anyone of any faith or country what to do. In fact, I chewed gum and sat in a car.

See how easy that was?

BMC

Last Few

What did you just say? - What's he gonna say next?

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!