Leave me a Note, Damn It!
link to diary critic

2003-07-14 - 4:12 p.m.


***

Frankie goes to Holy Wood(aka heaven)

Bush's comments on the CIA? They're "darn good".

You can't make this kind of stupidity up.

So I was on my way to Erin's house yesterday and I had on this jazz station transmitting out of Sachem high School. I wish my high school had a radio station because I truly believe my life would have changed completely had I had a radio station that early to get me interested in radio. My first experience with radio was actually WJUL at Lowell, but that was for a very short time because the people there were assholes and the work was a lot, considering I needed all the time in the world to goof off. That, and I was given a show at 5 AM with some hippie old guy as my "internship" to start my "training"...

*************************
honestly, if you cannot work a sound board or a cd player, you need professional help. It is the single most simple thing to do, considering the hard part was finding the right spot to put all the levels at and the setup of the board and by the time you get there, that's taken care of for you. You put on a playlist of WHATEVER YOU WANT TO LISTEN TO, unless they make you pick from a specific section, which WQKE made me do and which I refused to do, when you are training. Then you talk to people and let them know what they are listening to. Speak like you would if someone was actually right there listening to you and was wondering what music you were just listening to. It's that simple. Just don't curse.
*************************

...but things would have been world's different for me had I done the radio earlier. So I was pretty happy with the fact that somewhere, some people are being introduced to the radio early.

Here's the thing.

It's an all jazz/big band station.

Now.

Me, I'm really weird when it comes to music. I'm especially weird when I'm listening to it in the car. This has to do with the rock factor. The rock factor is basically how much I feel the music taking control of my body. If I hear a song that kicks my ass, and I happen to be driving, I will potentially double the speed limit. It's a scientific fact. Rock goes up, so does speed. And although you may not peg me for it, I like jazz ALOT. Not the smooth jazz on CD 101.9 or the hokey jazz in movies that people play when they want to be stereotypically jazz. I'm talking Blue Note, Birdland, Harlem born Satchmo, Etta and Billie fucking jazz. They kick the shit out of me. And I hear that fan brush scrape on the snare or I hear the muted trumpet or the running bassline and I fucking go off.

So I tend to speed a lot whenever I listen to this station.

However.

Since I get to where I'm going faster, I have less time to hear what I want to hear.

So...

I took extra time to get there by way of some alternate route Erin showed me and I barely remembered, trying to get there a little later than I should.

And I ended up getting there in the same amount of time because, despite my insistance that the route she showed me takes longer to get to her house, it actaully is pretty damn fast.

So on the way, I heard Sinatra doing "New York, New York" which I belted out with him, because when Frankie's singing, you have to sing along because you know you know the words and it's fucking fun to sing in the car. It's like a soundproof booth that can take you to Taco Bell, granted that you leave the windows up so that the soundproof booth stays soundproof. And I was like "Wow, Frankie really loves New York. He sings this song like he loves the place. That's really cool," even though I didn't care all that much. I mean, so you like New York. So does a million people. But, a million people aren't famous for singing that song. Just Frankie, and I think like 3 other people who also recorded it.

And then Erin and I went to go see 28 days later, which may not be a good date movie, but is still a great fucking movie. It reminded me a lot of Resident Evil games at points, especially the whole zombie looking "Infected"...

*************************
Which was one of my only qualms about the movie. They called everyone the "infected" who were zombies. I mean, come the fuck on. Just fucking say "zombie". Is it that they don't want it to seem like a zombie movie? Even though they're all zombies? I know the movie was a British film. Everyone's accent hits you over the head with fucking fish and chips. It's made ABOUT the UK, IN the UK. It's a British film. Do the British not want to look like American movies and be zombies, but rather the "infected"? It's a small point, granted, because it is such a good fucking movie, if you like blood and guts movies. But it's annoying.
*************************

and I was surprised to see my girlfriend loves gore movies, which truly kicks ass because that's a whole other genre that doesn't get locked up in the "Must go see by myself" box. Now if only she liked kung-fu movies...

So we hung out till like 2 AM and I left tired as all get out and on the way home, Frankie is belting out on the Sachem station. Only this time, he's singing a song about CHICAGO and how much he loves CHICAGO (and I don't mean the Broadway play) and I was like "Wait a fucking second. He was all about the New York before 28 days Later, and now it's only 4 hours later and Frankie Boy is on the radio hooting about how much the shit Chicago is." Don't get me wrong, Chicago may very well be a fantastic city. It may be the greatest city. In fact, it might be the greatest city in the entire country, maybe the entire world.

I've never been to Chicago.

But fucking shit Frank. Do you love New York or Chicago? Is it the Windy City or the Big Apple? You can't pick BOTH as your favorite city. You can't sing songs about both. It's kind of discerning. It's like Frank is hitting on both of the cities and getting paid money for it. Twice.

I realize the man is dead. I don't care.

BMC

Last Few

What did you just say? - What's he gonna say next?

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!