Leave me a Note, Damn It!
link to diary critic

2003-03-05 - 1:04 p.m.


***

Anti-Anti-War Mall

I check my email at Yahoo! because I had to switch to something free after I lost the AOL account. Yahoo! isn't the greatest source for news, but it's by default my first because I check my email at the same place on the screen practically as the headlines of today's top 5 stories, which as of late have usually gone "Terrorist story, Iraq story, Korea Story, something new to fear, Anna kournikova married breifly/kangaroo jack tops the box office".

But not this time.

It started off with France, Germany, Russia block war vote. That was all about how those countries...are blocking the war vote in the UN against Iraq. Pretty self-explainatory as well as DUUUUUUUUH! Not a motherfucker in the world wants to see this war play out.

That is, until you get to the next headline.

"US plans heavy bombing campaign in Iraq".

Are you shitting me? Are you seriously shitting me? I mean, I can understand if the French didn't want you to go to war. The French are definitely not war people (they bowed down to Germany and let them just roll right through in WWII).

BUT FUCKING GERMANY! THE PEOPLE WHO FUCKING INVENTED WORLD WAR ARE BACKING DOWN AND YOU'RE PLANNING FUCKING BOMBING CAMPAIGNS! Are you seriously out of your fucking mind, Bush??!?!?

Oh, apparently you are. And apparently everyone else is too because further down the headline hit parade, right after car bombs, Iraqi's insulting Kuwati's and the supreme court buddying up against sex offenders, there was a headline that read:

"Man arrested at mall for wearing a peace t-shirt"

ARE YOU FUCKING KIDDING ME?!?!? ARE WE THAT BORED?!?!? I mean, shit. The LAST guy I would pull out of a mall full of people and ask to leave is someone PROMOTING peace, someone asking people NOT to fight and be unruly. This comes after a group of people were asked to leave a mall because of wearing peaceful slogan quoting t-shirts. I guess it's beca.....

WAIT A SECOND! A FUCKING MALL! This happened in a goddamn mall? The battle between right and wrong is taking place in a mall? The front lines of peaceful demonstration are on the Gap's doorstep? Isn't the reason that so many countries think we're assholes is because we're a completely consumeristic culture? And now this. The Mall as a political battlefield. The only fucking 'field' that should be in the mall is fucking Mrs. Field's and that lady makes fucking cookies.

Next time someone tells you give peace a chance, you'll bet your ass it's in no place you can buy jeans and a taco in the same building.

BMC

Last Few

What did you just say? - What's he gonna say next?

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!